Wed, 05 Aug 2020

Argentina name Rugby Championship squad

27 May 2019, 00:42 GMT+10

Cape Town - Argentina head coach Mario Ledesma has included five European-based players in his 46-man squad ahead of the Rugby Championship and World Cup.

Los Pumas' group had previously been made up of individuals solely from the Jaguares' Super Rugby team, but those rules have relaxed slightly over recent times.

That means Ledesma has decided to call upon Juan Figallo (Saracens), Ramiro Herrera (Stade Francais), Facundo Isa (Toulon), Nicolas Sanchez (Stade Francais) and Benjamin Urdapilleta (Castres).

Ledesma said: "We take certain selection criteria as a reference. Some outsiders were called based on the selection criteria and are those that we believe add value over the players we have here (in Argentina). That does not mean that, before an injury, we do not resort to outside players. Today, this is the list of those who will work in this first stage of preparation."

Argentina's 46-man squad

Prop: Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Mayco Vivas, Juan Pablo Zeiss, Javier Diaz, Santiago Garcia Botta, Juan Figallo, Ramiro Herrera, Santiago Medrano, Enrique Pieretto, Lucio Sordoni

Hooker: Agustin Creevy, Julian Montoya, Santiago Socino

Second-row: Guido Petti, Tomas Lavanini, Matias Alemanno, Lucas Paulos 77

Back-row: Pablo Matera, Tomas Lezana, Facundo Isa, Javier Ortega Desio, Marcos Kremer, Rodrigo Bruni, Juan Manuel Leguizamon

Scrumhalf: Tomas Cubelli, Gonzalo Bertranou, Martin Landajo, Felipe Ezcurra

Flyhalf: Nicolas Sanchez, Benjamin Urdapilleta, Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, Domingo Miotti

Centre: Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Jeronimo De La Fuente, Matias Orlando, Matias Moroni, Lucas Mensa, Juan Cruz Mallia, Bautista Ezcurra

Back three: Ramiro Moyano, Bautista Delguy, Sebastian Cancelliere, Emiliano Boffelli, Joaquin Tuculet, Manuel Montero, Santiago Carreras

More Argentina News

Access More

Sign up for Buenos Aires News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!